#FDL: Books Being Published in May

Look for these books that will be published in May:

Title: The Baker’s Secret

Author: Stephen P. Kiernan

This novel of World War II is set in a small town in Normandy on the coast of France.  Emma is a skilled baker who has been experiencing the oppression of the occupying Nazis for three long years.  When her friend Ezra is taken away, along with other Jewish townspeople, Emma decides to fight back in her own silent way.

 

 

 

Title: Two Lost Boys

Author:  L.F. Robertson

Fans of John Grisham and Patricia Cornwell may enjoy this novel from the perspective of a death row appeals attorney. Janet Moodie represents Marion “Andy” Hardy, a man convicted of the rape and murder of two women.  Andy was given the death penalty. Janet becomes convinced that his original lawyers missed something and delves into a case that has more to it than meets the eye.

 

 

 

Title: Miss Burma

Author: Charmaine Craig

Burma, better known as the country of Myanmar, experienced a very turbulent time span between the 1940s and 1960s. This is the setting of Miss Burma, a historical novel which follows the story of one family who lives through World War II, political upheaval, and its resulting civil war.

 

 

 

Title: Sycamore

Author: Bryn Chancellor

A new resident in a small Arizona town decides to take a walk and unexpectedly happens upon human remains in the desert.  Later it is discovered that the body belongs to a young girl who went missing years before.  The small community must once again be faced with the tragedy of loss and possibility of answers.

 

 

 

Post by Susie Rivera, Reference Specialist

About #FDL

Welcome to #FDL! #FDL is a twice weekly update on all things Fondulac District Library and East Peoria. Twice a week, library staff will make posts that highlight some aspect of library life and relate it to you – our readers. Have you ever wanted to know which Dewey number represented a certain topic? Are you looking for book recommendations based on your favorite television show or television recommendations based on your favorite book? Have you ever wondered about the secret details of librarian life? If the answer to any of these questions is yes, then #FDL is for you. We look forward to writing posts that are informative and entertaining and hope that you enjoy getting better acquainted with Fondulac District Library.

LOVE THE LIBRARY?

Want to learn more about the great things happening at Fondulac District Library? Click the icons to follow us on Facebook or via RSS. Enter your email address to receive notifications about the library’s latest website posts.

imagine, inform, inspire